Serbian Orthodox Chapel

History

Catholic priests had to pay taxes to the Serbian Bishop. The present Orthodox chapel of Simeon the Stylite can rather be called a sanctuary as it was reconstructed from an ordinary house in 1947. The parish is still functioning with daily services and a Sunday liturgy. The chapel got its name from Simeon the Sylite who had chosen a unique way to be a hermit: instead of living in a cave or shed he lived on top of a column. As part of the Valuable Pécs project the Serbian Orthodox Diocese of Buda can realize its old dream, providing a new chapel and bell tower for its followers and organizing a permanent exhibition here, “Religious Art of the Serbian Orthodox Church of Baranya”.

Zrínyi str. 15. Pécs 7621

Megközelíthetőség

Megközelíthető a Főpályaudvarról a 7, 7Y, 38, 39, 40 számú buszokkal, leszállás a Zsolnay szobornál.

Contact
Name
Szerb ortodox imaház
Address
7621 Zrínyi u. 15.
Go to the webshop!